3 étoiles ou mieux

Construisons ensemble un monde 3 étoiles ou meilleur!

 

 

iRAP estime que l'amélioration des routes du monde à un niveau 3 étoiles ou supérieur est un moyen clé d'atteindre le Objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies objectif de réduire de moitié le nombre de morts et de blessés sur la route d'ici 2030.

Élever le niveau des routes du monde à un niveau 3 étoiles ou plus pour tous les usagers de la route contribue à concentrer les politiques et les investissements. Les coûts des accidents étant généralement divisés par deux à chaque amélioration progressive du nombre d'étoiles, le potentiel de routes 3 étoiles ou meilleures pour sauver des vies est important.

La campagne mondiale 3 étoiles ou mieux fournit aux décideurs les connaissances et les investissements nécessaires pour éliminer les routes 1 et 2 étoiles et sauver des vies. Le Fonds indépendant pour la santé mondiale a créé le Coalition trois étoiles créer un groupe d’organisations partageant les mêmes idées qui préconisent la conception et la construction de routes plus sûres dans les pays en développement. Plus précisément, ils préconisent que les routes soient construites selon une norme minimale de 3 étoiles pour tous les usagers de la route.

De nombreux pays et gestionnaires de projet fixent maintenant des objectifs pour augmenter le pourcentage de déplacements sur des routes 3 étoiles ou plus et établissent des normes 3, 4 ou 5 étoiles pour les routes nouvelles et modernisées. Le classement par étoiles fournit une métrique puissante pour spécifier et suivre les performances de sécurité routière au niveau du réseau et du projet, tout comme les autorités routières fixent des objectifs pour la rugosité de la chaussée ou d'autres performances des actifs. Ces mesures objectives et factuelles fournissent des objectifs simples, reproductibles et réalistes que les pays et les organisations peuvent adopter.

Classement par étoiles pour tous les usagers de la route


Évaluation étoilée et Plan d'investissement Les inspections créent une riche source de données qui donne un aperçu des raisons pour lesquelles les traumatismes routiers restent l'un des principaux défis de santé publique au monde. Sur la base de recherches factuelles, Notes par étoiles pour les piétons, les cyclistes, les motocyclistes et les occupants de véhicules fournissent une mesure objective de la probabilité de survenue d'un accident et de sa gravité. 1 étoile est le moins sûr et 5 étoiles le plus sûr.

Classement par étoiles par type d'usager de la route sur la base d'un échantillon de 358 000 km de routes dans 54 pays:

Pourquoi 3 étoiles ou mieux?


Dans un monde parfait, toutes les routes seraient 5 étoiles (c'est-à-dire les routes les plus sûres) pour tous les groupes d'usagers de la route. 5 étoiles pour les piétons, 5 étoiles pour les cyclistes; 5 étoiles pour les motocyclistes et 5 étoiles pour les occupants des véhicules et des transports publics. Bien qu'il existe un argument financier écrasant pour investir dans des routes plus sûres, un monde 5 étoiles pour tous sur toutes les routes restera une aspiration pour l'avenir.

Alors que les routes à grand volume peuvent être portées à un niveau 5 étoiles de manière rentable, les routes 3 étoiles ou plus pour tous les usagers de la route présentent un objectif réaliste que les gouvernements nationaux et régionaux et les autorités routières doivent adopter.  

Les mises à niveau des infrastructures et la gestion de la vitesse sont les moyens les plus efficaces de créer des routes 3 étoiles ou plus pour tous les usagers de la route. Lorsque les investissements ne sont pas facilement disponibles ou sont limités, des améliorations spectaculaires peuvent être obtenues grâce à une combinaison d'options d'infrastructure à faible coût telles que des marques de ligne et des réductions de vitesse sur les sections les plus dangereuses de la route. 

Qu'est-ce que le classement par étoiles?

Les classements par étoiles sont basés sur les données d'inspection routière et fournissent une mesure simple et objective du niveau de sécurité «intégré» à la route pour les occupants des véhicules, les motocyclistes, les cyclistes et les piétons.

Les routes cinq étoiles sont les plus sûres, tandis que les routes une étoile sont les moins sûres.

D'une manière générale, chaque note supplémentaire par étoiles entraîne une réduction de moitié du coût des accidents en termes de nombre de personnes tuées et gravement blessées. Il est important de noter que les évaluations par étoiles peuvent être complétées dans le monde entier, dans les zones urbaines et rurales et sans référence aux données détaillées sur les accidents, qui sont souvent indisponibles dans les pays à faible revenu et à revenu intermédiaire, ou sont rares dans les pays à revenu élevé et à haut rendement qui recherchent une vision zéro résultat.

Guide de classement par étoiles - Qu'est-ce qui rend une route sûre? (Graphique inclus dans le Rapport de situation mondial de l'OMS sur la sécurité routière 2018)

Commencer

Où voulez-vous aller avec votre cible 3 étoiles ou mieux?

Vue Études de cas du monde entier.

Selon vous, qui est le plus à risque sur vos routes et où?

le Rapport de situation mondial de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé pour la sécurité routière fournit un aperçu pays par pays des performances en matière de sécurité routière, de l'ampleur des décès et des blessures et des usagers de la route généralement tués ou blessés. Plus de la moitié de tous les décès sur la route se produisent généralement sur moins de 10% de routes dans un pays. Cibler ces tronçons de route à haut risque avec des objectifs ciblés pour chaque usager de la route est un bon point de départ.

Certains pays produisent des cartes des risques qui donnent un aperçu précieux des routes les plus dangereuses.  Cartes des risques fournir une présentation visuelle du risque de décès et de blessures graves par kilomètre et par kilomètre parcouru sur la base des données historiques d'accident.

Améliorer le Évaluation étoilée sur ces routes, où un grand nombre de morts et de blessés sont tués, fournit une priorité immédiate pour les objectifs de politique de classement par étoiles et les investissements pour sauver des vies. Dans de nombreux cas, faire passer les routes à haut débit et à haut risque de 3 étoiles à 4 ou 5 étoiles peut fournir le meilleur retour sur investissement. iRAP encourage les partenaires à fixer des objectifs qui maximisent en fin de compte les vies sauvées dans le cadre de budgets suffisamment importants - et à fixer des objectifs minimum de 3 étoiles pour tous les nouveaux projets et les améliorations routières.

Créer une ligne de base

Une analyse par étoiles évalue l'état physique de l'infrastructure routière et, sur la base de recherches factuelles, une note par étoiles pour tous les usagers de la route est produite. Le nombre d'étoiles prend en compte les attributs spécifiques de la route qui ont un impact sur la sécurité des différents groupes d'usagers de la route (piétons, cyclistes, motocyclistes et occupants de véhicules). Identifier le réseau à cibler et entreprendre une enquête de base est un excellent point de départ. Avec la connaissance de la performance actuelle du réseau routier, des objectifs et des niveaux d'investissement appropriés peuvent être explorés pour garantir un objectif informé et réalisable.

L'iRAP recommande que le volume le plus élevé de 10% de routes soit évalué dans chaque pays - en notant les volumes de chaque groupe d'usagers de la route concerné, le cas échéant (par exemple, zones piétonnes à grand volume; itinéraires cyclables ou motocyclistes).

OBJECTIFS RECOMMANDÉS DE NOTATION ÉTOILE

Les principales agences routières ont de l'expérience dans l'établissement d'objectifs de classement par étoiles et l'approche courante consiste désormais à fixer un objectif pour les routes existantes en termes de pourcentage de déplacements à 3 étoiles ou mieux. Cela encourage une concentration raisonnable initialement sur les routes à plus fort volume pour chaque groupe d'usagers de la route.

Pour toutes les nouvelles routes, personne ne peut se permettre de construire une nouvelle une ou deux étoiles. Les objectifs minimum 3 étoiles sont le point de départ, et les normes devraient être augmentées à 4 et 5 étoiles lorsque le retour sur investissement est élevé ou les ambitions sont élevées.

ROUTES EXISTANTES

"X" % de déplacement sur Routes 3 étoiles ou plus par "année" pour les réseaux routiers existants

(par exemple, 90% de déplacements de véhicules sur des routes 3 étoiles ou plus d'ici 2025; 100% de déplacements de piétons sur des routes 3 étoiles ou plus d'ici 2030)

NOUVELLES ROUTES OU AMÉLIORATIONS

Norme 4 étoiles ou plus pour chaque usager de la route lorsque les volumes sont supérieurs à «X» et

Norme 3 étoiles ou plus pour tous les usagers de la route sur tous les nouveaux projets routiers

(par exemple, 4 étoiles ou plus pour les véhicules sur toutes les routes transportant 50000 véhicules ou plus; 4 étoiles pour les piétons sur toutes les routes dans les quartiers commerciaux, autour des écoles ou à moins de 1 km d'un arrêt de transport en commun)

le Rapport du Secrétaire général de l'ONU (A / 370/86 - septembre 2015) recommande aux États membres de "améliorer les infrastructures, notamment en ciblant le volume le plus élevé de 10% de routes existantes et en fixant des objectifs de classement par étoiles pour tous les usagers de la route concernés et en adoptant des normes minimales de trois étoiles et des audits de sécurité routière pour toutes les nouvelles constructions de routes"

Utilisez notre Ressources 3 étoiles ou plus pour soutenir votre leadership local ou votre plaidoyer pour adopter une cible 3 étoiles ou mieux.

Si vous avez besoin de versions dans la langue locale, veuillez nous en informer et nous vous aiderons.

 

AMÉLIORER LES PERFORMANCES DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE

L'appel d'offres concurrentiel signifie que les constructeurs de routes disent parfois qu'ils «ne peuvent pas se permettre de construire des routes plus sûres» ou que la route est sûre car elle a été «conçue conformément aux normes». Les nouvelles routes sont souvent supposées automatiquement à tort comme des routes plus sûres. En fait, nous savons que de nouvelles routes sont encore en cours de construction à un niveau inférieur à 3 étoiles ou mieux, bloquant efficacement des niveaux élevés de décès sur les routes dans le futur.

Vous pouvez contrer cet argument avec des statistiques solides qui montrent que les routes 3 étoiles ou plus ont un sens financier solide. Pour chaque amélioration du nombre d'étoiles, les coûts des accidents sur les routes sont généralement divisés par deux. Les «extras» de sécurité routière représentent souvent une petite proportion (<5%) du projet routier total, avec un retour sur investissement de 5 à 10 fois ou plus le coût des ajouts.

 Comment ajouter une cible 3 étoiles ou supérieure dans les spécifications de mon projet?

Il est facile d'inclure un objectif de classement par étoiles dans votre cahier des charges. Le classement par étoiles fournit une mesure simple, objective, fondée sur des preuves et réalisable que les propriétaires de projet doivent spécifier, les concepteurs à soumissionner et les auditeurs de la sécurité routière ou équivalent à vérifier. En général, nous vous recommandons d'utiliser le modèle suivant pour inclure les cibles:

 

La nouvelle route doit être conçue et construite de manière à fournir les cotes d'étoiles lissées minimales suivantes:

 

  Piétons* Cyclistes * Motocyclistes * Occupants du véhicule *
Cible de classement par étoiles lissée 4 étoiles ou mieux 4 étoiles ou mieux 3 étoiles ou mieux 3,5 étoiles ou mieux

* Là où des usagers de la route de ce type sont présents ou le seront dans le futur

Il est facile d'inclure des KPI d'infrastructure liés à la sécurité routière pour la gestion de votre réseau. Consultez les KPI recommandés pour les données d'accident, l'infrastructure et la gestion de la vitesse pour les routes existantes, les nouvelles routes et les mises à niveau, ainsi que par attribut de route ici.

Voici quelques exemples de recommandations liées au classement par étoiles utilisées dans le monde:

Mesurer les résultats

Pour que les améliorations 3 étoiles ou supérieures soient efficaces et crédibles, les routes améliorées doivent produire les résultats promis. Une mauvaise compréhension des éléments de conception, une méconnaissance des caractéristiques de sécurité routière par les équipes de construction, des délais pressés et l'utilisation de matériaux de qualité inférieure peuvent tous compromettre les normes.

Évaluation étoilée le projet achevé garantit que toutes les améliorations de la conception ou Plan d'investissement pour des routes plus sûres ont été correctement remplis. Il identifie tous les changements de matériaux depuis la création de la conception originale et les modifications possibles de la conception pendant la construction. Le paiement final peut être subordonné à l'obtention de la note finale approuvée lors de la phase de conception ou d'approvisionnement.

Faire une différence et sauver des vies

En février 2016, les équipes de Slovaquie ont réévalué 327 km des autoroutes DI et DZ et de l'autoroute R1 qui avaient fait l'objet d'un paquet d'amélioration de 40 millions d'euros mis en œuvre par la Société nationale des autoroutes slovaques. Les améliorations ont eu lieu à la suite d'une évaluation iRAP Star Rating entreprise en décembre 2013 dans le cadre du projet South Eastern Neighborhood Safe Routes (SENSoRj).

Avant la mise à niveau, seulement 27% des routes avaient une cote de 3 étoiles ou plus pour les occupants du véhicule. La réévaluation a révélé que 77% des sections améliorées étaient désormais classées 3 étoiles ou mieux sans aucune section 1 étoile.

On estime qu'au cours des 20 prochaines années, 355 décès et blessures graves seront évités sur ces tronçons de route.

Assurez-vous que les routes améliorées restent sûres

Même lorsqu'une route est confirmée comme 3 étoiles ou mieux, nous ne pouvons pas nous permettre de nous détendre. L'évolution des modèles de trafic, de la densité urbaine et des limites urbaines, ainsi que l'usure et la mauvaise utilisation des infrastructures pourraient signifier qu'une route deviendra moins sûre avec le temps. Il est essentiel que les performances en cas de collision sur des routes améliorées soient régulièrement contrôlées.

Régulièrement mis à jour cartes des risques peut être utilisé pour mesurer et rendre compte des résultats en matière de sécurité routière des investissements des gouvernements et des agences de financement. Les études avant et après aident également à constituer la base de données factuelles pour les investissements futurs et peuvent finalement être partagées dans la boîte à outils iRAP. Si les cartes des risques ne sont pas disponibles, une réévaluation par étoiles doit être entreprise tous les 3 à 5 ans pour garantir le maintien des performances.

Ne laissez pas la complaisance coûter des vies

Étant donné que les environnements routiers - et les communautés qu'ils desservent - sont constamment en transition, le classement 3 étoiles d'une route peut être invalidé par des circonstances changeantes.

Par exemple, dans une zone rurale, une route non divisée à 80 km / h ou 50 mph avec de larges axes centraux et des bords de route sûrs peut offrir une meilleure route 3 étoiles. Si l'environnement desservi par la route est par la suite urbanisé, les besoins de sécurité et les performances changeront.

Ce problème commun est à l'origine de nombreux décès et blessures. Dans ce scénario, avec des volumes de trafic fortement accrus aux intersections, l'ancienne route 3 étoiles ou mieux sera désormais 1 ou 2 étoiles pour tous les nouveaux usagers de la route. Pour que la route soit sûre, dans ce nouvel environnement urbain, elle devra être divisée et nécessitera des sentiers piétonniers et des passages à niveau sûrs. La limite de vitesse devra également être réduite.

Tous ces changements doivent être introduits avant que le nouvel environnement routier plus dangereux ne commence à faire des victimes.

Célébrer le succès

Sauver des vies doit être célébré. Nous devons changer la perception du public autour des accidents de la route afin qu'ils soient considérés comme une cause majeure de décès évitable au même titre que la santé maternelle et l'insalubrité de l'eau.

Pour ce faire, nous avons besoin de votre soutien. Nous avons besoin de vous pour crier vos réussites et créer une publicité positive autour d'eux. Invitez des députés locaux, des équipes de conception, des propriétaires de projets et des praticiens de la sécurité routière à des cérémonies d'inauguration. «Le ministre ouvre une toute nouvelle route 4 étoiles» pourrait devenir un titre courant dans les journaux et les médias régionaux. Un discours puissant d'une personnalité politique clé peut être une source d'inspiration pour d'autres défenseurs de la sécurité routière. Écoutez ce discours du ministre malaisien des transports, Liow Tiong Lai.

Q: Quelle est la différence entre la vie d'un enfant sauvée grâce à la vaccination ou grâce à des routes plus sûres?

R: Aucun du tout!

Pourtant, alors que les campagnes médicales reçoivent une publicité bien méritée pour leurs succès, les interventions de sécurité routière qui sauvent des vies ont du mal à obtenir la même importance.

Lorsque vos routes 3 étoiles ou plus sont ouvertes, pourquoi ne pas faire connaître les avantages vitaux des routes? Soumettez votre "Partagez votre succès qui sauve des vies" étude de cas ici afin que nous puissions le partager avec le monde et contribuer à inspirer le prochain projet qui sauvera encore plus de vies.

Pour plus d'informations, contactez [email protected]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
fr_FRFrançais
Partagez ceci

3 Star or Better

Let’s build a 3-star or better world together!

 

 

Let’s build a 3-star or better world together!

For the first time the United Nations has included road safety as a Sustainable Development Goal (3.6). iRAP believes that improving the world’s roads to a 3-star or better standard is a key way to achieve the SDG target of halving road deaths and injuries by 2020.

The Sustainable Development Goal has injected a sense of urgency into the demand for safer roads. National, state and local governments are looking to accelerate action with evidence-based solutions that work. Raising the standard of the world’s roads to
a 3-star or better standard for all road users is helping to focus policy and investment. With crash costs typically halving with each incremental improvement in star rating the potential for 3-star or better roads to save lives is significant.

The global 3-star or better campaign provides decision makers with the knowledge and investment business case to eliminate 1 and 2-star roads and save lives. The independent Fund for Global Health has established the Three Star Coalition to build a group of like-minded organisations advocating for the design and construction of safer roads in the developing world. Specifically they advocate for roads to be built to a minimum 3-star standard for all road users.

Many countries and project managers are now setting targets to increase the percentage of travel on 3-star or better roads and establishing 3, 4 or 5-star standards for new and upgraded roads. The star rating is providing a powerful metric to specify and track road safety performance at the network and project level, just as road authorities set targets for pavement roughness or other asset performance. These objective, evidence-based metrics provide simple, repeatable and realistic targets for countries and organisations to embrace.

3-star or better roads for all road users is a key target for all of our partners to embrace as we work together to create a world free of high-risk roads.

Find out here how you can deliver 3-star or better roads and make a dramatic difference to saving lives and preventing serious injuries!

(based on a sample of 250,000km of iRAP assessments across 60 countries)

Why 3 Star or Better?

In a perfect world all roads would be 5-Star (i.e. the safest roads) for all groups of road users.  5-star for pedestrians, 5-star for cyclists; 5-star for motorcyclists and 5-star for vehicle and public transport occupants.  Although there is an overwhelming financial case for investing in safer roads a 5-Star world for all people on all roads will remain as an aspiration for the future.

While high-volume roads can cost-effectively be raised to a 5-star level, 3-Star or better roads for all road users presents a realistic target for national and regional governments and road authorities to adopt.  As part of an overall Safe System approach, iRAP believes that a 3-star or better world will help to meet the UN Strategic Development Goal 3.6 of halving road deaths and serious injuries by 2020.

Find out more about the Safe System Approach here 

Find out about the UN’s Save Lives Package here

Find about the UN Decade of Action here

Infrastructure upgrades and speed management are the most effective ways to achieve 3-star or better roads for all road users. When investment is not readily available, or is restricted, dramatic improvements can be achieved by a mix of low-cost infrastructure options such as line markings and reductions in speed on the most hazardous sections of the road. The safety performance of roads can now be measured and managed.

Death and injury rates are typically halved for each incremental improvement in star rating . Bringing our roads to 3-star or better standard will save lives!

What is Star Rating?

Star Ratings are based on road inspection data and provide a simple and objective measure of the level of safety which is ‘built-in’ to the road for vehicle occupants, motorcyclists, bicyclists and pedestrians.

Five-star roads are the safest while one-star roads are the least safe.

Broadly speaking, every extra star rating results in a halving of crash cost in terms of the number of people who are killed and seriously injured. Importantly, Star Ratings can be completed worldwide, in urban and rural areas and without reference to detailed crash data, which is often unavailable in low-income and middle-income countries, or is sparse in high-performing high-income countries striving for vision zero outcomes.

 

Getting started

Where do you want to go with your 3-star or better target?

View Case Studies from around the world.

Who do you think is most at risk on your roads and where?

The World Health Organisation Global Status Report for Road Safety provides a country by country overview of road safety performance, the scale of death and injury and the road users typically killed or injured. More than half of all road deaths typically happen on less than 10% of roads in a country. Targeting these high-risk road sections with focussed targets for each road user is a great place to start.

Some countries produce regularly updated risk maps which give a valuable overview of the most dangerous roads.  Risk maps provide a visual presentation of the fatality and serious injury risk per kilometre and per kilometre travelled based on historical crash data.

Improving the star rating on these roads where large numbers are killed and injured provides an immediate focus for star rating policy targets and investment to save lives.  In many cases raising high-volume, high-risk roads from 3-star to 4 or 5-star may provide the greatest return on investment. iRAP encourages partners to set targets that ultimately maximise the lives saved within appropriately large budgets - and set minimum 3-star targets for all new projects and road upgrades.

Creating a base-line

A Star Rating analysis assesses the physical condition of road infrastructure and based on evidence-based research a star rating for all road users is produced. The star rating takes into account the specific road attributes that impact safety for the individual road user groups (pedestrians, cyclists, motorcyclists and vehicle occupants).  Identifying the network to be targeted and undertaking a base-line survey is a great place to start. With knowledge of the existing performance of the road network, appropriate targets and investment levels can be explored to ensure an informed and achievable target.

iRAP recommends the highest volume 10% of roads is assessed in each country - noting volumes of each relevant road user group as required (e.g. high-volume pedestrian precincts; cycling or motorcycling routes).

RECOMMENDED STAR RATING TARGETS

Leading road agencies have experience in setting star rating targets and the common approach now is to set a target for existing roads in terms of the percentage of travel at 3-star or better.  This encourages a sensible focus initially on the higher volume roads for each road user group.

For all new roads, no one can afford for a new one or two star to be built. Minimum 3-star targets are the starting point, and standards should be raised to 4 and 5-star where the investment return is high or ambitions are high.

EXISTING ROADS

"X"% of travel on 3-star or better roads by "year" for existing road networks

(e.g. 90% of vehicle travel on 3-star or better roads by 2025; 100% of pedestrian travel on 3-star or better roads by 2030)

NEW ROADS OR UPGRADES

4-star or better standard for each road user when volumes are greater than 'X' and

3-star or better standard for all road users on all new road projects

(e.g. 4-star or better for vehicles on all roads carrying 50,000 vehicles or more; 4-star for pedestrians on all roads in commercial districts, around schools or within 1km of a public transport stop)

The UN Secretary General's report (A/370/86 - September 2015) recommends that member states should "improve infrastructure, including by targeting the highest volume 10% of existing roads and set appropriate infrastructure star rating targets for all relevant road users and adopting minimum three-star standards and road safety audits for all new road construction"

Use our 3-star or better resources to support your local leadership or advocacy to adopt a 3-star or better target.

If you need local language versions please let us know and we will help you.

 

INCENTIVISING ROAD SAFETY PERFORMANCE

Competitive tendering means that road builders sometimes say they “can’t afford to build safer roads” or that the road is safe as it has been “designed in accordance with the standards”.  New roads are often mistakenly assumed automatically to be safer roads. In fact we know that new roads are still being built to a less than 3-star or better standard effectively locking in high levels of road deaths long into the future.

You can counter this argument with hard statistics that show that 3-star or better roads make sound financial sense. For each star rating improvement crash costs on roads are typically halved.  The road safety 'extras' are often a small (<5%) proportion of the total road project, with returns of investment 5-10 times or more the cost of the additions.

 How do I add a 3-star or better target in my project specification?

It's easy to include a star rating target in your design brief.  The star rating provides a simple, objective, evidence-based and achievable metric for project owners to specify, designers to tender on and road safety auditors or equivalent to verify.  In general we recommend the following template is used for including targets:

 

The new road shall be designed and constructed to deliver the following minimum smoothed star ratings:

 

Pedestrians* Cyclists* Motorcyclists* Vehicle Occupants*
Smoothed Star Rating Target 4 Star or Better 4 Star or Better 3 Star or Better 3.5 Star or Better

*Where road users of that type are present or will be in the future

 

Here are some examples of Star-Ratings related recommendations used around the world:

Star Rating a Design

Including star-rating targets in the tender process raises the competitive bar among design teams.  The open-ended ‘or better’ target invites designers to aspire to higher performance.  A 4.5 star outcome can be given more weighting than a 3.5 star outcome for a very small percentage of the overall project costs.

Project evaluation criteria can therefore include the safety performance of a road in addition to traditional criteria like cost, time and quality.  The star ratings and associated estimate of life-time crash costs associated with each design can provide an objective, evidence based, global standard that can be used in evaluation criteria.  Refer to our simple tables below as a template for action.

For example tenderers could be ranked by their performance across all of the criteria and/or the costs of road trauma expected in their design could be included in the price evaluation.  For example:

 

Criteria Tenderer 1 Tenderer 2 Tenderer 3
Safety Performance 2.8 Star 4.1 Star 3.7 Star
Safety Benefit (A) $6 Million $81 Million $65 Million
Cost (B) $112 Million $125 Million $123 Million
Total Cost (B - A) $106 Million $44 Million $58 Million
Ranking 3 1 2

 

From a whole of government perspective, and for commissioning bodies making a long-term investment in roads and subsequent infrastructure maintenance, there is a powerful argument to pay for better and safer infrastructure at the outset instead of retrofitting at greater cost in coming years.

Safer roads will pay for themselves!

Case Study

Designers managed to boost significantly the length of road rated 3-stars or better during the building of the US$323 million World Bank-financed Second Gujarat State Highway. They used a range of safety countermeasures including traffic calming, pedestrian footpaths and crossings and street lighting to ensure that the characteristic ‘green tunnels’ of old roadside trees could be retained while mitigating their safety risk.

Now Star Rate Your Design!

Star rating of designs can be incorporated as part of a road safety audit or completed independently.  The design drawings together with other key project fundamentals such as expected traffic volumes and speed estimates can ensure the star rating of a design can be completed from the desk-top with local knowledge.  Road safety auditors are well placed with the skills needed to star rate designs.

Star Ratings are now being used by many agencies to ensure that safety is built-in to designs for upgrades and new roads prior to construction.

By providing a means of objectively measuring the impact on risk of various design iterations, the Star Rating design process helps to harness the potential of designers to find creative solutions to challenging safety problems.

For governments and development banks, the process opens the opportunity to set performance-based targets for vehicle occupants, motorcyclists, pedestrians and bicyclists that not only improve safety but create a high level of transparency and accountability.

The Star Rating design process has been successfully used in countries such as Australia, New Zealand, Moldova, Qatar and India, in conjunction with existing mechanisms such as Road Safety Audits and highway design standards.

iRAP has developed standard specifications to undertake a Star Rating of a Design that can be included in your project and a trusted network of trained Design Star Rating suppliers around the world is also available.

If you need help iRAP can assist in the direct planning and procurement for a star rating of designs assessment.

Contact: greg.smith@irap.org

Measuring outcomes

If the 3-star or better improvements are to be effective and credible the improved roads must deliver the promised results.  Poor comprehension of design elements, lack of appreciation of road safety features by construction teams, rushed deadlines and the use of inferior materials can all compromise standards.

Star Rating the completed project ensures that all the improvements in the design or Safer Roads Investment Plan have been properly completed. It identifies any material changes since the original design was created and possible modifications to the design during construction.  Final payment can be contingent on the achievement of the finished star rating as approved during the design or procurement stage.

Making a difference and saving lives

In February 2016, teams in Slovakia reassessed 327KM of the DI and DZ Motorways and R1 Expressway that had been subject to a €40m improvement package implemented by the Slovak National Motorway Company. The improvements took place following an iRAP Star Rating assessment undertaken in December 2013 as part of the South Eastern Neighbourhood Safe Routes (SENSoRj) project.

Before the upgrade only 27% of the roads had rated 3-star or better for vehicle occupants. The reassessment found that 77% of the improved sections now rated 3-star or better with no 1- star sections anywhere.

It is estimated that over the next 20 years, 355 deaths and serious injuries will be prevented on these stretches of roads.

Make Sure That Improved Roads Stay Safe

Even when a road is confirmed as 3-star or better we can’t afford to relax. Changing patterns in traffic volumes, urban density and urban boundaries and wear and tear/misuse of infrastructure could mean a road will become less safe over time.  It is essential that crash performance on improved roads is regularly monitored.

Regularly updated risk maps can be used to measure and report on the road safety outcomes of investment by governments and funding agencies. Before and after studies also help build the evidence base for future investment and can ultimately be shared in the iRAP Toolkit. If risk maps aren’t available, then a Star Ratings reassessment should be undertaken every 3-5 years to ensure performance is maintained.

Don't let complacency cost lives

Because road environments – and the communities they serve – are constantly in transition, a road’s 3-star rating may be invalidated by changing circumstances.

For instance, in a rural area, an 80km/h or 50mph undivided road with wide centrelines and safe roadsides may deliver a 3-star better road. If the environment served by the road is subsequently urbanised then the safety needs and performance will change.

This common problem is a source of many deaths and injuries. In this scenario, with greatly increased traffic volumes at intersections, the former 3-star or better road will now be 1 or 2 star for all new road users. For the road to be safe, in this new urban environment, it will need to be divided and it will require pedestrian footpaths and safe crossings. The speed limit will also need to be reduced.

All these changes need to be introduced before the new, more dangerous road environment begins to claim lives.

Celebrating Success

Saving lives should be celebrated.  We need to change the public perception around road traffic crashes so they are seen as a major preventable cause of death in the same way as maternal health and insanitary water.

To do this, we need your support. We need you to shout about your successes and build positive publicity around them. Get local MPs, design teams, project owners and road safety practitioners along for ribbon-cutting ceremonies. "Minister opens brand new 4-star road" could become a common headline in regional newspapers and media.  A powerful speech by a key political figure can be inspirational for other road safety advocates. Listen to this speech by Malaysia’s minister of transport, Liow Tiong Lai.

A Success Story: EuroRAP

EuroRap - Targets for Highways England

Q: What is the difference between a child’s life saved through vaccination, or as a result of safer roads?

A: None at all!

Yet, while medical campaigns get well deserved publicity for their successes, life-saving road safety interventions struggle to get the same prominence.

When your 3-star or better roads are opened, why not publicise the life-saving benefits of the roads?  Fill out one of our “Share your Life-Saving Success” case studies so we can share it with the world and help to inspire the next project that will save even more lives.

For more information contact comms@irap.org

Get in touch with us to find out more information